Nabe News: October 23
Le Souk felled by the SLA, the last Jews of Orchard Street, and the East Village/Lower East Side debate, all in today’s neighborhood news!
EV Grieve brings news that Le Souk’s liquor license will be canceled once again. A spokesperson from the SLA confirmed that the governing body “will re-serve the cancellation order, which will terminate their liquor license.” Another score for the community [EV Grieve]
A look inside the tunnel under the Harlem River that will serve as another electrical lifeline for the city. It’s a “9.5-mile, 345-kilovolt electrical connection between Consolidated Edison’s Sprain Brook substation, in Yonkers, and the new Academy substation, in the Inwood section of Manhattan.” [Cityroom]
The debate over whether the East Village is a separate entity from the Lower East Side [The Villager]
Ken uncovers some fascinating history about the abandoned Pier 54 on the west side at Fourteenth street. It was operated by the Cunard line, and was where the Carpathia docked to unload the 705 Titanic survivors in 1912; also where the Lusitania embarked on its final voyage. Is the pier cursed? And how long before the area is “highlined”?[Greenwich Village Daily Photo]
Rest easy. David’s Shoe Repair on East Seventh Street will reportedly remain in place. Just some renovations of the space. David’s grandson is taking over the business [Vanishing NY]
Meet the last Jewish merchants of Orchard Street [The Villager]